MSP’s Cracking Down On People Texting And Driving This Month
If you’re one of the scariest drivers on the road, you know, someone who drives and texts, you should know that Michigan State Police are stepping up patrols looking for people texting while driving.
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month and MSP are joining a national campaign of “ U Drive. U Text. U Pay.”
According to the press release from Michigan State Police,
“Driving and texting is not only dangerous and irresponsible—it’s illegal.”
Texting while driving is especially dangerous because it involves three main types of distraction:
Visual: taking your eyes off the road
Manual: taking your hands off the wheel
Cognitive: taking your mind off the task of driving
Michigan already has pretty costly texting law that if caught reading, manually typing or sending a text message, you’ll be fined $100 the first time and any other time after that, if you’re caught it’s $200 per occurrence.
As every PSA says, don’t let “HAHA” or “YOLO” or “On My Way” be the last thing anyone ever hears from you again. #DontTextAndDrive (yes, I know hashtags don’t work in stories, but still, be safe.)
Don't be this guy...