How Old Do Kids Need To Be To Ride In Front Seat In Michigan?
The debate at our house recently comes from my 9 year old son. It has to do with his ability to ride in the front seat as a passenger. When I was a kid I started riding in the front seat when I was 5. I haven't told my son that yet because his response would be, "you did it when you were a kid!". Yes, I did it as a child, however, Michigan laws suggest otherwise.
Our whole family wears seatbelts any time we travel. That's a no brainer. When it comes to the well being of children, Michigan has some laws that are in place to protect our kids. As it turns out, I don't know what the laws were in 1979, me riding in the front seat was a big no no if the laws in place today existed back then.
As a kid, I'm sure it's the same for my son and your children too, I just wanted to sit in front like an adult so I could get a view of what was coming towards me. Simple things in life. Laws are in place to protect us from tragedy.
In the state of Michigan, according to michigan.gov,
Children younger than age 4 to ride in a car seat in the rear seat (if the vehicle has a rear seat). If all available rear seats are occupied by children under 4, then a child under 4 may ride in a car seat in the front seat. A child in a rear-facing car seat may only ride in the front seat if the airbag is turned off.
Children must be properly buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet-9-inches tall. Children must ride in a seat until they reach the age requirement or the height requirement, whichever comes first.
When it comes to riding in the front seat, there is no clear age limit. I will use common sense and utilize these factors when making my decision. As much as my son wants to ride in the front seat, safety comes first.