When you are driving, do you ever think of the show, Speed Racer?


Getting behind the wheel for me is therapeutic when people on the highway also know how to drive.

Most of the time, they do not know how to drive.

Magic 104.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

With all the tickets people receive, you would think that we would know this simple answer.

Is it okay to go 10 miles above the speed limit?

What is the base speed limit in Michigan?

When I moved to Michigan, I was truly overjoyed when I saw the speed limit here.

In Maryland, the speed limit is simply 55 miles per hour, which I think is truly not enough speed at all to get anywhere.


But that might just be because if I am driving, we are driving fast. No slow pokes.

Michigan's highway speed limit is 70 mph unless stated otherwise.

What if there is no speed limit posted in a residential area?

If there is no signage of what the speed limit is, from my research, you should simply treat it as a regular residential area.


Since the regular speed limit in a residential area is 25 mph, even if there is no sign explaining the speed limit, it is still 25 mph at all times.

Can You Legally Go 10 Miles Over the Speed Limit in Michigan? 

According to Michigan Auto Law, that is a big, fat, whooping NO!

In the MCL Section 257.629c,

"If a driver violates the speed limit on a "limited access freeway" where the "maximum speed limit is 55 miles per hour or more," then he or she will have the following points put on their license and they will be required to pay the following fines."

Miles per hour over the speed limit:

  • 1 to 5 mph = Zero points and a $10 fine
  • 6 to 10 mph = One point and a $20 fine
  • 11 to 15 mph = Two points and a $30 fine
  • 16 to 25 mph = Three points and a $40 fine, and
  • 26 mph or more = Four points and a $50 fine

10 Go-Kart Racing Tracks in Michigan

Go-kart racing that's fun for the whole family can be found at these 10 tracks in Michigan.

More From Magic 104.9