Going 5 MPH Over the Speed Limit in Michigan is Legal, Right?
If you are ever in the car with me, you know I am trying to get to my destination as soon as humanly possible.
However, Michigan law may not like that I am doing that.
Before you go over the speed limit, do you think it is illegal to go over the speed limit, even if it is only 5 miles over?
Is It Legal To Go Over 5 MPH?
Unfortunately, you will not like the answer if you are a speedy person.
Michigan Auto Law says that
"In Michigan, it is not legal to go 5 miles over the speed limit. A driver who violates the law is responsible for a civil infraction and faces up to a $100 fine, points on his or her driver's license, and up to $100 in court costs."
Michigan Speeding Law
If you are trying to avoid fines and points on your license, here are the rules and regulations according to the Michigan Department of Transportation.
"Generally, the fine for the civil infraction of speeding cannot be more than $100.00.The points that a speeding driver may get on his or her driver’s license include:
- More than 15 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): Four (4) points
- More than 10 mph and up to 15 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): Three (3) points
- More than 5 mph and up to 10 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): Two (2) points.
- More than 1 mph and up to 5 mph over the speed limit (as set by law or ordinance): One (1) point."
So at the end of the day, be prepared to pay off that ticket once you are pulled over.