It is some crazy situations going on in the world!

You just never know who people actually are deep down until they finally show themselves.

When it comes to getting back at someone, the revenge can be outlandish, including sending salacious photos and videos out to the world.

Magic 104.9 logo
Get our free mobile app

The reason why I even wondered about the law around this is because of a scandalous situation that happened in Texas.

Texas Scandal


A woman in Texas was given $1.2 billion after her ex-boyfriend allegedly shared "visually intimate material" of her online!

It gets worse because the man also emailed the photos to her family, friends, AND colleagues after they broke up!

NBC News shared that,

"The woman's ex, Marques Jamal Jackson, allegedly put the images on multiple social media sites, in a publicly accessible Dropbox folder and on an impersonation page of a p**n website. He also told her she would “spend the rest of your life trying and failing to wipe yourself off the internet," the woman’s lawyers alleged."

After reading about this situation, I wondered whether Michigan had the same strict laws about salacious photos.


Is It Illegal to Post Salacious Photos & Videos of Your Ex in Michigan?

Detroit Legal Defense shared that,

"In 2016, Michigan enacted a law that made it a crime to disseminate illicit material of another person under a few circumstances. This law, which follows a nationwide trade, was in response to what is dubbed “Revenge P**n.”

The Revenge P law covers the following situations:

  • A person shall not intentionally and with the intent to threaten, coerce, intimidate disseminate any sexually explicit visual material of another person,
    • The other person is not under the age of 18 years,
    • The other person is identifiable from the sexually explicit visual or information displayed in connection with the sexually explicit visual material.
    •  The person obtains the sexually explicit visual material of the other person under circumstances in which a reasonable person would know or understand that the sexually explicit visual material was to remain private.
    • The person knows or reasonably should know that the other person did not consent to the dissemination of the sexually explicit visual material.

Breaking this law is considered a misdemeanor charge!

 "A first-time offense of this nature could result in jail time of up to 93 days and a fine of up to $500. A second or subsequent violation could result in up to a year of jail and a fine of up to $1,000."

6 Weird Laws Still on the Books in Michigan

Even though a lot of these laws are very old and not really enforced, they still exist. Check out some of the weirdest laws still on the books in Michigan.

More From Magic 104.9